J&K govt yet to take decision on 3 Ex-CMs among 13 other

Jammu: With the release of People’s Conference chairman Sajjad Lone and PDP leader Waheed Parra, only 13 political leaders including three former chief ministers remain under detention as they completed six months today.

Moreover, there is no official word on the release of these 13 political leaders but from time to time the government has assured all the detainees will be released when the situation is conducive to Jammu and Kashmir.

Six months ago, on August 5th, union government decision to abrogate Article 370 and 35A, following which over 500 important political workers and leaders, including three former chief ministers Omar Abdullah Farooq Abdullah and Mehbooba Mufti were detained as precautionary measures.

“Now only 13 leaders are under detention including three former Chief Ministers of the erstwhile state of Jammu and Kashmir and others detained at MLA, Srinagar, hostel including Jammu Kashmir Political Movement (JKPM) member Shah Faesal,” an official said.

The opposition parties and different countries including the USA continuously demanding release all political leaders at the earliest.

“Administration is not immediately reviewing the cases of NC president and Srinagar MP Dr Farooq Abdullah, whose detention was extended for three months in December under the Public Safety Act (PSA) for the second time. The five-time ex-Chief Minister is detained in his house, which has been turned into a sub-jail. The PSA dossier was based on his numerous public speeches made in the past few years,” they said.

“Home Department and the magistrates have not started any process to review the cases of NC vice-president Omar Abdullah and PDP chief Mufti. Both the former Chief Ministers were being held in separate sub-jails under Section 107 and 151, which allows detention of people in the cases of apprehensions of breaching the peace,” they said

“Sections of 151 and 107 allowed preventive detentions up to one year without any review,” he added.

The Jammu and Kashmir administration had on Wednesday released two prominent leaders each from People’s Democratic Party (PDP) and (PC) People’s Conference. The released leaders included chairman of PC, Sajjad Ghani Lone and PDP’s spokesperson Waheed Rehman Para.

Since Sunday, a total of eight leaders have been released from preventive custody.

On Feb 4, J&K administration released two leaders — former PDP MLA from Wachi in south Kashmir Aijaz Ahmad Mir and trade leader Shakeel Ahmed Qalandar, who is a former president of the Federation Chamber of Industries, Kashmir.

Earlier on Jan 17, four former legislators including Haji Abdul Rasheed, Nazir Ahmed Gurezi, Mohammad Abbas Wani and former minister Abdul Haq Khan were released by the Jammu and Kashmir administration.

Similarly, on Dec 30, the five leaders released belonged to the National Conference, the PDP, and the Congress. The leaders included Ishfaq Jabbar and Ghulam Nabi Bhat (NC), Bashir Mir (Congress) and Zahoor Mir and Yasir Reshi (PDP), they said.