Centre sets up delimitation commission for J&K

Justice (Retd.) Ranjana Prakash Desai appointed as head of panel; Process to be completed in 1-year,UT Govt to appoint Election Commissioner; 4 MPs to be appointed as associate members

Srinagar, Mar 06 : The Centre on Friday appointed former Supreme Court judge, Justice (Retd) Ranjana Prakash Desai as head of Delimitation Commission for the Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir.

According to wire service—Kashmir News Observer (KNO), the central government today constituted the Delimitation Commission for the purpose of delimitation of Assembly and Parliamentary constituencies in the Union territory of Jammu and Kashmir and the States of Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur and Nagaland.

According to the order issued by Union Ministry of Law and Justice, Justice (Retd), Ranjana Prakash Desai will be chairperson of the panel.

Sushil Chandra, election commissioner, and respective election commissioner of J&K UT and states would be members of the panel.

As already reported by KNO, the Jammu and Kashmir government would need to appoint election commissioner as per the provisions of the Constitution of India.

Four MPs from J&K- three from NC and one from BJP- are likely to be appointed as associate members of the delimitation commission. They would neither have voting rights nor can they sign decisions of ECI.

The order states that appointment of Justice (Retd.) Ranjana Prakash Desai shall be for a period of one year from the date of the publication of this notification in the official gazette or till further orders, whichever is earlier.

Justice Ranjana Prakash Desai is former judge of the Supreme Court of India. She served as a Judge of Supreme Court of India from 13 September 2011 to 29 October 2014.

The commission will undertake delimitation in the Union territory of Jammu and Kashmir in accordance with the provisions of of the Jammu and Kashmir Re-organisation Act and the provisions of the Delimitation Act, 2002, the order states—