Three New NIA Branches sanctioned by Ministry Of Home Affairs

New Delhi: The Ministry of Home Affairs has sanctioned three additional branches for the National Investigation Agency to be located at Imphal, Chennai and Ranchi.

Centre’s decision will help in ensuring quick response to any emergent situation in the concerned States by the premier anti-terror investigation agency of the country.

It will strengthen NIA’s capability in the investigation of terrorism-related cases and other national security-related matters. It will also facilitate the timely collection of crucial information and evidence related to such offences.

Presently, the NIA has nine branches across India located at Guwahati, Mumbai, Jammu, Kolkata, Hyderabad, Kochi, Lucknow, Raipur and Chandigarh, besides specialized units at HQ in New Delhi.